Putting Our Frequent Flier Miles to Good Use.

The last thing I want to do is to tell you how to use your miles that you have so painstakingly accumulated! For us, it’s by using it for anything and everything that makes us happy. And for our latest use, it’s for my Dad to finally come visit us in Taipei!

IMG_0605

Right now, it’s still considered high season in the traveling world. School is about to start and last-minute traveling for families are still in full swing. I know I would if we had the time, to make the last trip to Bali or Bangkok before September 1st.

This means, flight tickets are ridiculously expensive! If tickets are reasonable, we usually opt to pay for them and earn more mileage to put it towards our next big trip. In this case, it just made more sense for us to use our miles and get Dad over for approximately $240 roundtrip from Singapore!

I looked into our “miles’ wallet” and realized we have a bunch of Krisflyer miles (Singapore Airlines) and some United Miles. United had increased their miles for travel this year and it had caused a huge uproar for miles and points obsessed folks, me included. 🙂 But the fact of a matter is, United charges a very ridiculous low tax fee for any redeemed ticket. In our case, we were looking at 20,000 miles + $85 (taxes and redemption fees) taking EVA airways, a really nice and reliable Taiwanese airline.

Granted that Singapore Airlines needed only a mere 12,750 miles, far less than United. However, the fees’ is SGD185.70 (approx $154)! Singapore Airlines is no doubt one of the best airlines in the world. It’s really comfortable and reliable and now, they have increased economy baggage allowance to 30kg and that is definitely a huge plus. The other really awesome feature is that as a Krisflyer member, you get to go online and change your traveling dates for free, as many times as you like (based on availability of course) up to one year! And, I can choose my seats but as far as I’m concerned, the pros stop right here. I could go on but that’s for another post another day!

EVA Airways still have not increased their baggage allowance though I have to say their service and food definitely surpass Singapore Airlines. But booking through United, I can’t change my dates without paying, that means you have to be solid in your booking plans and I most certainly can’t choose my seat. It all depends on your traveling needs. Saving on the redemption tax is a huge plus but if I am traveling with family, “paying” for confirmation that we will be seating together, is a choice that I would definitely make.

For me, getting into the miles and points game started back in 2012. It was really an eye opener to travel for so little and yet so well. With our schedule really hectic this year, I am a little sad that we have not been as vigilant in accruing miles and points in 2014. The following are my “travel gurus” that I have stumbled upon right from the beginning and they have taught me so much and because of them, we have had countless amazing memories traveling all over Asia and Europe. I am really grateful to them and hope you’ll find them helpful and in turn, use them to your advantage and make the time to see the world! Have you guys redeemed any miles or points this summer?

http://onemileatatime.boardingarea.com/

http://millionmilesecrets.com/

http://thepointsguy.com/

http://mommypoints.boardingarea.com/

Leave a comment